#### KENT COUNTY COUNCIL

### **GOVERNOR APPOINTMENTS PANEL**

MINUTES of a meeting of the Governor Appointments Panel held in the Wantsum Room, Sessions House, County Hall, Maidstone on Friday, 24 April 2009.

PRESENT: Mr D L Brazier (Chairman), Ms S J Carey, Mr W V Newman, DL and Mr M J Vye

OFFICERS: Mr R Dale (School Governance Officer), Mr N Morgan (School Governance Officer) and Mr A Tait (Democratic Services Officer)

#### **UNRESTRICTED ITEMS**

# 3. Minutes - 13 February 2009 (*Item A3*)

RESOLVED that the Minutes of the meeting held on 13 February 2009 are correctly recorded and that they be signed by the Chairman.

## 4. LEA Governors for Primary, Secondary and Special Schools in Kent (Item B1)

- (1) Mr M J Vye made a Declaration of Personal Interest in respect of his nomination to the Governing Body of Kingsmead Primary School.
- (2) The Panel agreed to the re-appointment of Mr H Johnson at Northfleet School for Girls by 3 votes to 1.
- (3) The Panel endorsed the decision taken by the Head of School Governance in consultation with the Chairman to appoint Ms H MacDonald to the Governing Body of The Cedars PRU.
- (4) In the light of representations received form the Governing Body, the Panel decided not to re-appoint Mr K George to the Governing Body of Horizon Primary School. The late alternative nomination of Mr I Rashbrook was accepted and he was duly appointed.
- (5) The Panel appointed Mrs N Roberts to the Governing Body of Monkton CEP School on the understanding that this would take place as soon as the previous governor's term ended.
- (6) Mr Goodayle's re-appointment to the Governing Body of Upton Junior School was made subject to proof of satisfactory attendance.
- (7) RESOLVED that the appointments of Local Authority Governors in Primary, Secondary and Special Schools be agreed as set out in the Appendix to these Minutes.



# APPENDIX (Paragraph 4 of the Minutes refers)

1. CLUSTER: AS1 ASHFORD

DCSF No:SchoolAppointee3340St Mary's CEP SchoolMr J Taylor

2. CLUSTER: ASHFORD RURAL

DCSF No:SchoolAppointee2625Godinton Primary SchoolMr S King

3. CLUSTER: CANTERBURY CITY AND COUNTRY

DCSF No:SchoolAppointee2604Kingsmead Primary SchoolMr M Vye2608St Stephen's Junior SchoolMs R Porcu2608St Stephen's Junior SchoolMrs C Molony

4. CLUSTER: CANTERBURY COASTAL

DCSF No:SchoolAppointee2264Hampton Primary SchoolMrs K Booty2264Hampton Primary SchoolMr S Moys

3339 Whitstable and Seasalter Endowed CEJ

School Mrs H Beaumont

5. CLUSTER: CRANBROOK AND PADDOCK WOOD

DCSF No:SchoolAppointee3027Cranbrook CEP SchoolMrs S Ditton3198Frittenden CEP SchoolMr A Martin3198Frittenden CEP SchoolMr M Yeandle

6. CLUSTER: DARTFORD EAST

DCSF No:SchoolAppointee2120Bean Primary SchoolMr J Perry7066Milestone SchoolMrs P Wenham

7. CLUSTER: DARTFORD WEST

DCSF No:SchoolAppointee2066Maypole SchoolMr R Lawson3914Oakfield Community Primary SchoolMr D Hunnisett

8. CLUSTER: DEAL AND SANDWICH

DCSF No:SchoolAppointee3173Kingsdowm and Ringwould CEP SchoolMr M Wells2307Warden House Primary SchoolMr C Tough

#### 9. CLUSTER: DOVER

DCSF No:SchoolAppointee2559Capel-le-Ferne Primary SchoolMrs S McCrystal2355Charlton CEP SchoolRev. J Lines2318Langdon Primary SchoolRev. A Durkin

#### 10. CLUSTER: GRAVESHAM

DCSF No:SchoolAppointee2458Istead Rise Primary SchoolMrs H Watling4040Northfleet School for GirlsMr H Johnson2658Westcourt SchoolMrs P Mee

### 11. CLUSTER: MC2 (MAIDSTONE)

DCSF No:SchoolAppointee2169Platts Heath Primary SchoolMr D Gare2552Sandling Primary SchoolMrs B Freyer2552Sandling Primary SchoolMrs N Pennel

#### 12. CLUSTER: MAIDSTONE 1

DCSF No:SchoolAppointee2192Staplehurst SchoolCurate L Nsenga-Ngoy2192Staplehurst SchoolMr A Davey1104The Cedars (PRU)Ms H MacDonald

#### 13. CLUSTER: MALLING

DCSF No:SchoolAppointee5410Aylesford School Sports CollegeMrs D King

#### 14. CLUSTER: SEVENOAKS SOUTH

DCSF No:SchoolAppointee3025Chiddingstone CEP SchoolMrs M Ward2147Weald Community Primary SchoolMrs E Dick2147Weald Community Primary SchoolMrs H Hamlyn2147Weald Community Primary SchoolMrs V Rathmell

#### 15. CLUSTER: SHEPWAY 1

DCSF No:SchoolAppointee3904Castle Hill Community Primary SchoolMrs S Wallace5225Harcourt Primary SchoolMr A Dunning

#### 16. CLUSTER: RURAL SHEPWAY

DCSF No:SchoolAppointee3200Brenzett CEP SchoolMr C Pike

17. CLUSTER: RURAL SWALE

DCSF No: School Appointee

4247 Sittingbourne Community School Mr C Longworth

18. CLUSTER: URBAN SWALE

DCSF No: School Appointee

19. CLUSTER: SWANLEY AND DISTRICT

DCSF No: School Appointee

2615 High Firs Primary School Mr R Pantlin
3908 Horizon School Mr I Rushbrook
3373 St Mary's CEP School Mrs J Sargeant

20. CLUSTER: THANET 1

DCSF No: School Appointee

3183 Monkton CEP School Mrs N Roberts 2672 Palm Bay Primary School Miss E Bartlett

21. CLUSTER: THANET 2

DCSF No: School Appointee

2603 Bromstone Primary School Mr A Poole
2345 Priory Infant School Mrs J Ladyman

2523 Upton Junior School Mr R Goodayle (subject to

proof of satisfactory

attendance)

22. CLUSTER: TONBRIDGE

DCSF No:SchoolAppointee2164East Peckham Primary SchoolMrs K Ray

23. CLUSTER: TUNBRIDGE WELLS

DCSF No: School Appointee

3322 St James' CEI School Mrs A Jupp

09/c&g/gap/042409minutes appendix

This page is intentionally left blank